Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

In search of horses, I found death in the dying light

Yesterday evening I went in search of the mythical “wild horses of Botriver & Kleinmond”. Just outside Kleinmond, towards Hermanus, one takes the turn-off from the R44 down a dirt road to the parking lot of the Rooisand Nature Reserve. There one can walk along a wooden walkway towards a bird hide. One also has views across the Botriver towards Fisherhaven. I had heard that this was where the horses often hung out. I’d been twice before and found nothing but birds and people, but this time I was convinced I would find the wild things. (More on them tomorrow or the next day.)

It was a cold, overcast and blustery evening and I wanted to get there before it got too dark for photography. This time I was met by a padlocked gate with a sign explaining that the reserve was closed for repairs on the walkway. I turned around, a bit dejected, and pointed the car towards home. But you know me, I hate leaving empty handed.

A few days ago I gave you sculptures bathed in pink. This evening it’s a handful of dead trees – artworks sculpted by nature – in the dying light.

(Denise, if you click on each one individually, you will be taken to the bigger versions, which should help you decide which one to choose for your next desktop photo.)

610_8771 610_8961 610_9010 610_9048 610_9064 610_9077

 

One comment on “In search of horses, I found death in the dying light

  1. kvennarad
    June 19, 2016

    Stark!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on June 19, 2016 by in Nature and tagged , , , .
