Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

In search of a specific nude on an Indian Ocean island

Last year while I was living in Madagascar, a group of friends came to visit. I deserted them soon after they arrived, leaving them to travel to île St. Marie while I went to Nepal.

A while after I returned to the island, one of them wrote to ask if I would go and buy a carving of a nude for her, that they had seen in an art gallery downtown.

“Sure,” I said, “what more could a guy want than going in search of a nude?”

I knew the gallery, but “which one did you want specifically?” I asked.

She sent me a picture.

IMG_2592

Off I went on my trusty little yellow scooter. With such a perfect image with which to work, I found her in no time.

IMG_9728

How’s that for a likeness? The only thing she got wrong was the hair.

Of course, while I was there, I toured the entire gallery. I love creativity. And love how the artists were able to work with the natural grains and shapes of the wood – especially the driftwood. I bought one of the carvings for another friend back in South Africa, and a small one for myself.

610_3893

Driftwood

610_3883

A large face on the floor.

IMG_2559

Dancers

610_3947

Cracked, flawless.

610_3932

The tiny piece I bought myself.

610_3891

Beautiful bokeh

And then there was the large company of carvings in a shower cubicle – unfortunately all too heavy to take anywhere with me.

IMG_2593 610_3887 610_3890

3 comments on “In search of a specific nude on an Indian Ocean island

  1. derekmidgley
    May 19, 2016

    Extraordinary what people create out of “ordinary” materials. Good idea to take pics while there!

  2. Mabel Saul
    May 19, 2016

    Wow!! amazing what the people can do with their own hands and creativity.

  3. There_Lot
    May 20, 2016

    The simple beauty of that. I am a fan. Of all 3 artists:-)

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on May 19, 2016 by in Art and tagged , , .
