Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

Salvador Dali: Big

Salvador Domingo Felipe Jacinto Dalí i Domènech, Marqués de Dalí de Puyol, better-known as Salvador Dali, was big in the surrealist world. I’m no expert on the man, and feel inadequate to talk in detail about the eccentric artist here, but if the photos below inspire you, I’m sure you could find plenty of online resources about him.

How do I come to have photos of Dali artworks? While I was in Liège, Belgium, a Dali exhibition opened at the train station (La Gare TGV de Liège-Guillemins). That in itself seemed bizarre enough to draw me down there to check it out – an international art exhibition in a train station. The station is beautiful and modern; the 2.000m² exhibition hall in the back of the mezzanine level.

The exhibition included a wide variety of authentic works including paintings, lithographs, sculptures, manuscripts, costumes and video clips on loan from the Stratton Foundation, La Cinémathèque Française, Belgium’s Niezen-Quievy Foundation and private collectors. According to the official media release, the exhibition “From Salvador to Dalí” highlights “the changing identities of the master of surrealism and his transition from child, to one the most celebrated artists of the 20th century, and to eccentric media darling.”

Dali was huge in the surrealist world. Very eccentric and a little bit mad, but a genius. I took so many photos that one of the ladies I went with asked me if I was planning on opening my own Dali exhibition back home! In order to prevent that, here then, just a small sample of my photos.

 

 

2 comments on “Salvador Dali: Big

  1. There_Lot
    March 15, 2016

    What is not to love about this…(poor cat, though!). I absolutely love the bookcase, the car, the table, well okay everything. I like eccentric! Still, the poor cat!

  2. jacquelineobyikocha
    March 15, 2016

    I like these photos. Out of the ordinary. Great shots

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on March 15, 2016 by in Art, photo101 and tagged , , , , , .
