Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

The only streets I saw in Paris

Well, this is new! I’m actually going to try to do this blogpost from my phone. Yes, that is a challenge for me, as I have been posting from my laptop for ever. 

As you may know, I am in France. And while in France one’s first and main stop is Paris, right? Wrong. On this trip pretty much all I saw of Paris was the metro and bits and pieces as I travelled to and from Normandy, and to and from Belgium on the train. Right now I’m on my way to Switzerland, and had 45 minutes to kill at the Gare de Lyon. I also have a suitcase that weighs 30kg and two other bags, which kind of prevented me from straying too far from the station.

And so, the only photos of Paris you get to see from me this time are these snaps I took quickly on my phone from outside the station. No Eiffel Tower, no Montmartre, no Notre Dame de Paris, just a couple of random Parisian street scenes. 

(Oh, and by the way, I’m posting this from a TGV – a French high-speed train. That’s pretty cool, right?)   
    
    
 

11 comments on “The only streets I saw in Paris

  1. Andy
    March 8, 2016

    “And as our final piece of business, I would like to officially welcome a Mr. Robin Malherbe to the 21st century. Congratulations.”

  2. leannenz
    March 8, 2016

    I think you have captured the atmosphere of Paris beautifully! Love the bike, sidewalk cafe and the old man crossing the road!

  3. hermitiancat
    March 8, 2016

    The bike is an excellent way to establish a foreground/background. The lines of the street really focus your attention on the bike. It’s simple, but I like the way it works.

    J’espère que vous apprécierez votre voyage en France!

  4. Uday
    March 8, 2016

    Even random shots of Paris are so beautiful! You have captured it nicely!

  5. HogriderDookes
    March 8, 2016

    That’s the Paris I know and love!
    Great shots, well done.

  6. Tish
    March 9, 2016

    Some coffee at Les Deux Savoies, thank you! What stunning buildings!

  7. kvennarad
    March 9, 2016

    Frankly, that’s what I want to see of Paris. While you’re there, emulate Robert Doisneau.

  8. There_Lot
    March 10, 2016

    And I want to see more of Paris…:-)

    • Robin
      March 10, 2016

      Well, too bad! Paris is way behind me!

  9. derekmidgley
    March 12, 2016

    Phones are amazing in your hands!

    • Robin
      March 14, 2016

      Thanks Derek!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on March 8, 2016 by in photo101, Travel and tagged , , , , , , .
