Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

My Liege, how did I not explore you more before?

I am currently in Liège, in Belgium’s Wallonie (French-speaking) district. I lived here as an exchange student when I was 18 and try to come back as often as possible to visit the family I lived with then, and a few other people I got to know at the time. I last visited at the end of 2012. Of course, I wrote several blog posts, including this one, where I featured mostly “touristy” shots of the city. Read it now if you would like a view of some of the city’s most photographed spots.

One last look back at Belgium: November 2012

So, back to the present. I took the train in from France last week, arriving just after lunch time. I tracked down the bus I know so well, paid the surly driver, and was immediately launched along a trip down memory lane on my way “home.” After a quick catch-up with Hélène, my host mother, it was straight to the local chocolate shop to stock up on 4 kgs of chocolate and then downtown on a pilgrimage to “La Brasserie,” a café I frequented often with my exchange-student friends.

The next day, braving all four seasons, Hélène and I again set off downtown to explore. We were going to visit the touristy areas but ended up gravitating towards the old terraced area behind the Palais des Princes-Évêques and towards la Citadelle. Up mountain and down steps we went, traversing the area a few times, sandwiched around a typical Liège lunch of Boulets la Liégeoise (meatballs with frites) and topped off with a hot chocolate in a local café in Rue du Palais. It snowed on us three times, rained a few, and the sun shone gloriously too.

This is how I saw the city on the day we just didn’t make it to the top-10 sights of Liège.

4 comments on “My Liege, how did I not explore you more before?

  1. Elaine
    February 29, 2016

    I love the slyly smiling face above the doorway. What did he know, I wonder, that it had to be carved in stone for generations to come, as fresh today as it was then. I hope a portion of that 4 kg of delectable and decadent Belgian chocolat is destined to come my way.

  2. Tish
    February 29, 2016

    Love the scenery, the buildings, the stories. Makes one long to be more than just a tourist. One must dwell awhile, linger a little. . .

  3. kvennarad
    March 1, 2016

    Be there (or thereabouts) for the Liège-Bastogne-Liège cycle race!

  4. A handful
    March 1, 2016

    It preserves the sense of wonderment for the next time.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on February 29, 2016 by in History, Travel and tagged , , , .
