Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

Cathédrale Notre-Dame de l’Assomption de Rouen

Rouen Cathedral, or Cathédrale Notre-Dame de l’Assomption de Rouen, is a Roman Catholic gothic cathedral in Rouen, the capital of Normandy in north-west France. I don’t know that I have the time or the energy to go into details about the cathedral (for that we have Wikipedia) but I can say that it is quite impressive.

The church’s beginnings date back to the 4th century AD, with construction on the current building starting in the late 12th century. The cathedral has been burnt, bombed, struck by lightning, pummelled by a hurricane or two, and damaged in several French and World Wars. And still it stands!

The cathedral is a gargantuan 144 metres long, 61.6 metres wide at its widest point and 151 metres high (the height of the main, cast-iron spire, which made it the highest building in the world at the end of the 1800s). It is still both the widest and highest church in France, according to Wikipedia.

I have friends that couldn’t be bothered with old things, especially old churches. I love them (both my young friends and the old things). I love the history behind them, and the incredible detail and sacrifice that went into them. I visited the cathedral in early 2014 and took a few photos. A few day ago I went again, and of course snapped a few more.

One comment on “Cathédrale Notre-Dame de l’Assomption de Rouen

  1. There_Lot
    February 24, 2016

    Love the reflection.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on February 24, 2016 by in Art, Travel and tagged , , , , .
