Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

Where fire and water do mix

One of my first blog posts here was about a gala (swim meet) at my alma mater, Pretoria Boys High. It was my nephew’s final inter-house gala of his school career, and an amazing experience. Now, one year later, I was privileged to attend a diving exhibition at the De Jong Diving Centre just down the road from there.

My niece is in her final year at school, and captain of the diving team. This was the second of what should become an annual event to raise money for the year’s activities. I remember that last’s year’s show involved fire and water (which I didn’t think were meant to go together) and so I was excited to see what they could dish up this time around.

We saw diving drills, fearless little debutants, clowns, an Egyptian Goose family sharing the pool with the divers, tandem dives from 10 metres and, finally, fire dives. It was very impressive. And all I can say is, well done to all the divers, especially my gallant niece!

(Click on images for bigger versions.)

4 comments on “Where fire and water do mix

  1. Shirley
    February 1, 2016

    Great pics. Well done to Danielle!

  2. Mabel Saul
    February 1, 2016

    All talented people Wow!!!

  3. There_Lot
    February 1, 2016

    That is incredible! That is the diving:-). The photo of ‘A rose for his love’ is my favourite.

  4. Geraldine
    February 3, 2016

    Great pics, Robin!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on February 1, 2016 by in Family, South Africa and tagged , , , , , .
