Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

Diptychs: an introduction

For the next few days I’m going to dial things back a bit, and give you just two images a day, in the form of a diptych.

A diptych was originally a work of art, often religious, consisting of two images hinged together. It comes from the Greek “di” (two) and “ptych” (to fold) I’m told. More recently though, it has become a popular story-telling method in photographic circles.

What you do is you take two photos that are closely related or contrasted in some way, place them together and then hope that the viewer can figure out what you are trying to say.

So, without further ado, here’s my first (straightforward) diptych in my series about life here in Antananarivo, Madagascar, called “home.”

diptych home

And, in fact, just because this is an introductory post, I will give you one bonus diptych (because I’m nice like that). I don’t have a title for this one. Perhaps you can help.

diptych malagasies

5 comments on “Diptychs: an introduction

  1. there_lot
    December 3, 2015

    Like:-)

  2. Tish
    December 3, 2015

    “Looking” . . . or “Watching” ?

  3. pix & kardz
    December 3, 2015

    sounds like a delightful project.

  4. Geraldine
    December 3, 2015

    “Cool cat”

  5. Mabel Saul
    December 8, 2015

    My own world

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on December 3, 2015 by in Madagascar, Real Life and tagged , , , , .
