Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

Chasing rainbows through a marsh

Jim, the middle boy, out on the marshy area.

Jem, the one who came with me, out on the marshy area.

There’s this boggy, marshy area just outside the fence here. Most Thursday mornings some friends and I spend time together outside, under the lean-to, and pray together just after sunrise. We watch the women and children from the shack across the plain pick their way gingerly out onto the marshy land to cut grass for their livestock; bobbing up and down on the sodden turf floating on the boggy mass below. Every so often one will stand on a soft bit and sink.

And every Thursday I wonder if I could do it – me, the overweight vazaha (foreigner) with tiny feet. Last week, on my birthday in fact, I found the perfect opportunity. Several violent thunderstorms had lashed our afternoon, followed by bright sunshine and stubby rainbows. At about 5pm all the kids ran into the house to tell me that I had to come and take a photo of a rainbow. I dashed out, camera in hand, but just couldn’t get the right angle.

“I have to get onto the marsh,” I thought to myself, seldom one to dodge the opportunity for an adventure. After tossing off my shoes, I headed out the garden gate, around the jagged wall and onto the marsh. I fared pretty well, but broke through twice, sinking up to my hip in black, slimy, gunk – my camera hoisted high above my head and my cellphone snug in my shirt pocket. Let me tell you, extracting oneself from that is not easy with only one hand!

One of the boys came with me, encouraging me from a distance, lest he get sucked in with me. I managed to get one decent photo of the little rainbow and then headed even further into the marsh to see if I could get a good shot of the dead tree.

The rainbow from the marsh

The rainbow from the marsh

I couldn’t seem to get the rainbow and the dead tree together in a shot because the other tree was in the way, but as I was about to head back an egret flew over. And that was how I shot this one (which is better bigger, of course):

Bird and dead tree

Bird and dead tree

I guess sometimes one has to get dirty, maybe even pick up leeches and other swamp bugs, to get some cool shots. This, for me, was the perfect birthday gift.

5 comments on “Chasing rainbows through a marsh

  1. kvennarad
    December 1, 2015

    I’d like to know how many shots you reject from each day’s shooting.

    • Robin
      December 1, 2015

      It all depends on what I’m shooting and if I feel like experimenting or not. In this case I took about 10 photos. When it comes to shooting children I will often take more just because they move about such a lot.

  2. Tish
    December 1, 2015

    Beauty everywhere, we just need the eyes to see.

  3. Elissa D.
    December 1, 2015

    That bird tree one is sooooo cool!

  4. derekmidgley
    December 7, 2015

    So beautiful, perspectives, from a distance!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on December 1, 2015 by in Nature and tagged , , .
