Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

A lazy day in Morondava

Last month I spent a few days in the western-coast town of Morondava here in Madagascar. It was a special experience, from the pothole-dodging on the way down, to shooting the Baobabs, to the proposition-dodging while staying there.

About that. It was probably the one negative about the town for me, Well, that and the fact that the beautiful beach is used as the town’s toilet. Everywhere.

Don’t get me wrong, I’m like anyone else – I love being complimented – told I’m uber-strong, handsome and that I speak “formidable” French. But not every day from lethal lips plastered with too much rouge. Just one day I would have enjoyed walking on the beach, or home after supper, without being propositioned.

On about my third day there I checked the charts for low-tide, stuck my head out of my hotel room into the muggy morning air and thought to myself, “what a perfect day for an adventure.” That particular adventure took me to a fishing village, Betania, across the Morondava River. I managed to avoid all the beggars and children, found what looked like a good place to cross, and waded over, up to my hips in the weary river.

Betania’s whole raison d’être is fishing, with a population of around 1000 fishermen and their families. Most had been out early morning, and were already back at home, their boats pulled high up on the beach. It was a particularly languid Sunday: sounds of worship from the village’s one church drifting across the morning in snatches, and people lazily going about their business. After exploring the village a bit, I wandered down to the beach to look for pansy shells, before slowly making my way back across the river before the tide came in.

From there I strolled to my favourite cafe for a late breakfast and back home for a nap. That evening I was back on the beach to enjoy another fiery sunset …

(All photos with my iPhone, which I kept safe under my hat while wading the river.)

5 comments on “A lazy day in Morondava

  1. Jem
    November 28, 2015

    Same Morondava, except when we were there, some drunkard was trying to sell us lobster and beer for breakfast.

  2. mukul chand
    November 28, 2015

    Great post, lovely pics.

  3. docugraphy
    November 29, 2015

    Mmmmh, Morondava, what a beautiful town with lovely people & beaches!!!

  4. Shirley
    November 30, 2015

    Love these pics. And you found a pansy shell!

    • Robin
      November 30, 2015

      When I found the first one I was so excited, and then I found another and another. And another… You get the picture. But every one was as beautiful as the previous one!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on November 28, 2015 by in Madagascar, Travel and tagged , , .
