Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

Throwback Thursday: vintage postcards shot today

While I was in Kathmandu earlier this year I did a blogpost of photos that I had just shot, but post-processed to look old. The city was perfect for it, with its old buildings and people who looked as if they had been caught in a time warp centuries ago.

Tana is very similar, with its French colonial-style homes, old Citroën, Renault and Peugeot taxis and people going about life as they would have in the 1950s.

My uncle was an amateur photographer. In fact, I inherited my first decent camera when he died, along with photo albums and journals from his numerous travels worldwide. As I edited these photos I thought of his albums. I think he would approve. Do you?

(Click on images for larger versions.)

6 comments on “Throwback Thursday: vintage postcards shot today

  1. Shirley
    November 26, 2015

    Absolutely gorgeous as usual, Rob!

  2. Tish
    November 26, 2015

    Yes, huge sense of the past, wonderful atmosphere.

  3. Tish
    November 26, 2015

    He would definitely approve! Does the station clock still work? I like to think so.

    • Robin
      November 26, 2015

      Considering that I took the photo at around 9am, I don’t think so… Unless they mixed up the hands. I guess it could be 9.10am (if one uses a lot of imagination.)

  4. Bishop Tutu
    November 26, 2015

    Stunning photos Rob!

    • Robin
      November 26, 2015

      Wow, thanks Arch! I couldn’t find a real archive of old photos so just had to make my own! 🙂

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on November 26, 2015 by in Madagascar, Throwback Thursday, Travel and tagged , , , , , .
