Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

The serendipity of stumbling upon graffiti-covered walls

This post is a “throwback” to my time in Kathmandu, Nepal. I loved the city – its people, the mountains in the distance, the old buildings and small alleyways … But one of the things that I loved most was the graffiti, which turned up in the most unexpected places. (I know that sounds weird – with all the city has going for it, and I loved the graffiti.)

One day I was walking with a colleague along a dirt track behind the zoo when we came across a long wall covered in art. He kept going. I stopped to shoot it all. Interestingly enough, I noticed one piece by an artist called “Daas” and remembered seeing another of his creations on a building I passed most days to work. I found out that he had done three murals (plus a collaboration with another artist) in Kathmandu in 2013. I found all of his solo projects:

The first photo, in the back of nowhere.

The first photo, behind the zoo.

A giant red panda overlooking the Basmati Bridge between Kathmandu and Patan.

A giant red panda overlooking the Bagmati Bridge between Kathmandu and Patan.

The elephant at the Shikshantar junior school close to the airport. This was painted with help from the school children.

The elephant at the Shikshantar junior school close to the airport. This was painted with help from the school children.

And here are the other photos I shot while wandering down the muddy track. (Click on them to open the slideshow.)

All the photos (except the giant panda) were shot with my phone.

3 comments on “The serendipity of stumbling upon graffiti-covered walls

  1. docugraphy
    November 6, 2015

    Really amazing and beautiful!!! Thanks for sharing! 🙂

  2. there_lot
    November 7, 2015

    I wonder what the stories behind the graffiti are? Like the poor guy losing his heart to a fishing rod. Made me smile… 🙂

  3. Geraldine
    November 11, 2015

    How amazing would it be to live in a city that embraces street art! These are stunning.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on November 6, 2015 by in Art, Nepal, Travel and tagged , , , , , .
