Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

Shooting people from the back seat

One of my greatest challenges photographically is to shoot while whizzing along the open road, something like I did when we took a trip to Antsirabe, south of Tana, a few years ago. It’s the perfect way to capture the vibe of a place, but not always that easy to do. This was one of the first times I tried it in Madagascar, and then I went on to attempt it in South Africa too…

Most of the time here in the capital city it’s actually not that difficult because one doesn’t get to “whizz” anywhere very fast, what with the state of the roads and traffic. Just a few weeks ago I shot whatever I thought was photo-worthy from the front seat of the car on the way to town.

And then last week, while driving to visit a friend in hospital on the other side of town, I decided to try to shoot only people, and only when we were standing still, from the back seat of a mini-bus taxi using my DSLR and 70-200mm lens. The 16km trip took us over an hour and a half, which gave me plenty of stationary moments. These were my favourite shots. Which is/are yours amongst these?

7 comments on “Shooting people from the back seat

  1. kvennarad
    November 4, 2015

    I have to wonder what’s going through the mind of the kid squinting down the bottle.

    • Robin
      November 4, 2015

      Ha ha ha, exactly. I love that photo because it involves one in it…

  2. There_Lot
    November 4, 2015

    Tired…and 2 kids sitting…what’s in there.

  3. docugraphy
    November 4, 2015

    Great!!! I call this “drive-by-shooting” 😉 I love that. You can really catch some authentic everyday life-photos through that.

    • Robin
      November 4, 2015

      Yes, I normally call them that too, but I’ve done so many of these types of shoots that it was starting to get old… 🙂

      • docugraphy
        November 4, 2015

        Really? It´s always exciting to me. Should be to you too, cause you´re pictures are really great!

  4. Annamie Dean
    November 4, 2015

    The last one!!! What is she thinking? “When will somebody come and buy?”

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on November 4, 2015 by in Madagascar, People, Travel and tagged , , , , , , .
