Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

Waiting here for my wife …

I love roadtrips; one of the reasons being just how different they seem to be every time.

You could have done a particular route several times, but the very next one will be new again: warmer weather perhaps, a child throwing up in the back seat, or an errant pothole that darts in front of the car causing you to perform a foot-through-the-floor emergency stop …

I’ve never done the trip from Antsirabe to Morondava, but was told it should take “around 8 hours” to cover the 480km stretch. I was also told that the road had been much improved in the last year, so I could actually expect it to be even quicker. It turns out where parts of the road have indeed been re-tarred, others have gone in the opposite direction – with pothole minefields covering long stretches of the “route nationale.”

“The road is great after Miandrivazo,” my passenger assured me after several hours of slaloming our way past gaping road cavities and insanely reckless oncoming drivers. One thing with travelling with a Malagasy is that my general knowledge about the towns we travelled through improved vastly. For example, I found out that (aforementioned) Miandrivazo means something like “waiting here for my wife to be.” That may just become my new favourite word whenever I’m loitering somewhere.

“Excuse me sir, may I help you?”

And with a smile I will reply, “Miandrivazo.”

Why anyone would actually wait in the hellishly-hot dust bowl of Miandrivazo for his wife is beyond me, though. I can think of better places – like Paris. Or Morondava at a stretch.

But I digress. The trip did go pretty well, despite the potholes and the heat. My dear friends in Tana had lent us a car sans aircon, which was very fuel efficient, but cool inefficient. My drinking water actually started boiling at around 1pm. Seriously. I’ve had hot baths in colder water.

I could go on and on about the wonderful more-than-nine-hour drive, but I’ll rather just share some photos. Obviously because I was driving there aren’t many, but I did pull over to snap a few. And of course, when I saw my first baobabs I absolutely had to stop to capture that moment!

4 comments on “Waiting here for my wife …

  1. docugraphy
    October 12, 2015

    Funny, I´ve been in the same Hotely gasy on the way to Morondava, but it took our driver only six hours to get us there (from Antsirabe) :-))) And to be honest: compared to the highland road from Tana to Fianarantsoa, the RN to Morondava is a plain, beautiful highway 😉

  2. Elaine
    October 12, 2015

    Very funny post, Robin, and beautiful pics.

  3. There_Lot
    October 12, 2015

    Made me smile… Malagasy roadblock…:-)delightful indeed

  4. Geraldine
    October 13, 2015

    Those baobabs … sigh!!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on October 12, 2015 by in Madagascar, Travel and tagged , , , .
