Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

Flying to within spitting distance of Tibet

I know, I know, you must be sick of all the photos I keep posting of this beautiful place. But may I do just one more post?

Last week I flew up to a village called Lapche, right on the border with Tibet. In fact, it’s so close we had to get special permission. The weather has been horrid for the last few weeks, but on that day we found a small window of decent weather early in the morning. We did what we had to do and then beat a hasty retreat as the clouds closed in around us. Fortunately we were in the more powerful of the two helicopters, so could fly back home above the clouds and then drop in through a hole (in the clouds) just before Kathmandu.

4 comments on “Flying to within spitting distance of Tibet

  1. There_Lot
    August 21, 2015

    Prayer flags leading to the village, Gathering and Flying Home:-). I could go on, but I will stop there as it is 5 o’clock:-). Enjoy the last few days in Nepal.

  2. Geraldine
    August 24, 2015

    Wow. Stunning!

  3. Janet
    August 26, 2015

    Don’t stop posting pics Rob!

  4. mondetrekker
    August 27, 2015

    I like the contrast of the simple Monks against the helicopter. Nice shots.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on August 20, 2015 by in Nepal, Travel and tagged , , , .
