Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

Homework: a candid shot

Often I try to shoot first and ask permission later, for fear of missing a candid moment. This doesn’t work in the western world, but here people are (mostly) only too happy for me to take their photos.

610_8507

An example would be this shot of a girl doing homework in her dimly-lit single-room home. I had been out walking in town when I came across an area that had been badly damaged by the earthquakes in April and May. There, amongst the devastation, debris and decay was this serene scene. I took the photo and then walked up to the door to ask if she minded. If someone says no, then I don’t use it.

In this case her mom, who was at home, immediately called the other kids and got me to shoot them too. Those were posed, of course, but I didn’t mind. I love shooting people who want their photos taken. Here’s a shy, posed photo of the studious kid.

610_8495

When it came to editing the original photo I couldn’t decide if I preferred the colour shot (with the outside of the home in black and white to draw one into the interior) or a tighter, purely black and white photo. What do you think?

610_8507ii

5 comments on “Homework: a candid shot

  1. madasue
    August 19, 2015

    Colour..definitely.

  2. Andy
    August 19, 2015

    Colour.

  3. HorizonWatcher
    August 19, 2015

    Colour – much better context.

  4. there_lot
    August 19, 2015

    Group pressure: colour of course: -)..(no really. .colour)

  5. Tish
    August 20, 2015

    I dare to be different. I see more detail in the B&W.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on August 19, 2015 by in Monochrome, Nepal, People and tagged , , , , .
