Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

And now for something completely unrelated (to my trip to Nepal)

I admit it – the asinine, imbecilic, anencephalic¹ nature of the Internet overcame me some months back, compelling me to sign up for a time-wasting general knowledge app. It was reasonably fun for a few days, which bled into a few mind-numbing weeks. I thought it might help me improve my general knowledge; make me the life of the party… But it turns out it was aimed squarely at six-year-olds’ tea parties.

Let me guess. The Siamese twins?

Let me guess. The Siamese twins?

The bad grammar and repeated questions were mildly irritating but one could overlook them. Some questions, though were just plain moronic. This is when I discovered that the app was getting its users to come up with the questions. So I tried. I submitted some 30-odd well-written, interesting questions and was shot down by my fellow users. And the ridiculous questions just kept on coming, every time I played.

There was the one asking what prison Nielson Mendala was sent to. And the other about who Zahid’s cousin was. Apparently “Luigi the Somewhat Off-White” may have settled Greenland.

A master at asking the obvious over and over and over again, the app included questions like how many wheels a unicycle has, and yet another, “which of the following styles involves painting with your fingers?”

I did quite enjoy the question suggesting that singer Miley Cyrus may be a marsupial and the famous line from Star Wars, “Luke, I am your Sugar Mama”.

There were truly impossible, completely unfair questions (for a guy from South Africa) like these two:

IMG_9629 IMG_9628

But mostly it was just hilarious.

Of course, it’s been relegated to my app recycle bin, but I did keep a few of my favourites (which you can click on now.)

¹characterized by partial or total absence of a brain

5 comments on “And now for something completely unrelated (to my trip to Nepal)

  1. kvennarad
    August 10, 2015

    BTW Iceland is where the European and North American plates meet, so be very careful about the glacier question.

  2. madasue
    August 10, 2015

    Spiderman shoots baby eggs? Way cool…um..wait, what ARE baby eggs??

    • Robin
      August 10, 2015

      My thought exactly.

  3. Geraldine
    August 11, 2015

    Hahaha … Nice! I needed that little bit of comic relief!

  4. There_Lot
    August 20, 2015

    Nou ja toe, wat sal mens hierop sê:

    Actually the second last one is a trick question: A from of swimming: of cause The scuba diver, but I would say ‘The sprinkler’ too (if I think of hot summer days and ‘The sprinkler’:-))

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on August 9, 2015 by in Humour, Silly Sunday.
