Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

Taking the time to talk to strangers

My mother asked me a few days ago what I enjoyed most about Nepal. I have only been here for three weeks; I have only seen the Kathmandu valley and a few villages in the mountains; I work six days a week, starting at 5.30am …

With this as my point of reference, I have to say it’s the people who have made the greatest impression.

I love that I can go out for a walk in the evening and end up having numerous conversations with random people, many of whom will approach me, kicking off the conversation with, “Namaste, what is your name? Where are you from?”

I am currently staying in Patan (Lalitpur), one of the three most important cities culturally and historically in the Kathmandu valley (the other two being Kathmandu itself and Bhaktapur.) Lalitpur, which means The City of Artisans, is known for its narrow streets, brick buildings and numerous artisans still plying their ancient trades. Every corner seems to conceal a new marvel: one of over 1000 Buddhist monuments big and small, an artistic archway, intricately-carved door, a stone water spout or colourful people simply living.

Unfortunately, as with Kathmandu, much of ancient Patan was destroyed or badly damaged by the earthquakes in April and May 2015. The people, though, have not been (destroyed). They seem to be stoically resolute not to let the tragedy change them. And friendliness, smiles and laughter run through their veins.

Here are some photos from a leisurely stroll through Patan one evening after work.

4 comments on “Taking the time to talk to strangers

  1. madasue
    August 3, 2015

    Wow, Rob. Just wow.

  2. Mabel Saul
    August 3, 2015

    You are adventurous Rob, I like it.

  3. There_Lot
    August 3, 2015

    I am with Sue on this one. No favourites…just wow.

  4. Geraldine
    August 4, 2015

    They seem like such centred people … of all the places you’ve visited, they seem the happiest (despite their hardships)

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on August 3, 2015 by in Nepal, People, Travel and tagged , , , , , , .
