Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

This world is but a canvas to our imagination. *

By now you know that I love Kathmandu: its vibrant streets, vibrant people and vibrant, living history. One of the things that struck me on my first day here, driving from the airport to my hotel, was the murals: some faded, some vivid, peeking out from alleyways; a splash of colour on a colourless concrete edifice or in the distance across a filthy river as we trundled by.

(In)famous street artist Banksy is credited as saying that “some people want to make the world a better place. I just wanna make the world a better-looking place. If you don’t like it, you can paint over it!”

Numerous artists around town seem to live by the same maxim. I had seen a few murals while out driving last Saturday, and so decided to go in search of them on foot early this week. In the end, I didn’t find those specific ones, but my random roaming took me down a street rich in art.

(To be continued tomorrow.)

∗ Henry David Thoreau

4 comments on “This world is but a canvas to our imagination. *

  1. Jem
    July 30, 2015

    I dunno about you, but most of those look really creepy to me.

  2. There_Lot
    July 30, 2015

    These pics give me a serious case of wanderlust…amazing

  3. madasue
    July 31, 2015

    I would love to hear the stories behind some of these!

  4. Geraldine
    August 4, 2015

    Oh my word … they are AWESOME! The SA artist Norman Catherine would be right at home with some of those!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on July 30, 2015 by in Art, Nepal, Travel and tagged , , , , , .
