Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

Kathmandu: so much to see

IMG_0012There really is.

So much to see in Kathmandu.

And after only a week I have this strange feeling inside: a feeling that stirs memories long-forgotten. It’s an uneasy feeling. A feeling I can’t quite put my finger on. I remember it through a veil. I think it may be love.

Sure, the temples, artefacts, historical places and other ancient bits and bobs are beautiful, exotic and intriguing but, as with any of the places I’ve visited, it’s the people who really capture my heart.

In the car on the way home yesterday Pushpa, my driver, was explaining to me how I’m not actually staying in Kathmandu itself. “This is Patan. Kathmandu lies just across the Bagmati River …”

“Have you been to the Patan Durbar Square yet?” he continued, “It’s just up the hill, not far from the hotel. It’s quite something.”

I told him I hadn’t but that I would try soon.

Soon in my universe is as soon as possible. I got to my hotel room, changed into shorts, put on my comfy sandals, grabbed my cellphone and headed out on my grand quest. Yes, I found the square, which I would love to visit at dawn with my camera when I’m not working. And I discovered many smiling, friendly people; people genuinely interested in having a conversation and not trying to get something from me, the foreigner.

I had left my camera at home, but snapped these with my cellphone, before it died somewhere in the middle of my expedition.

IMG_0008IMG_0009 IMG_0002 IMG_0001 IMG_0006 IMG_0010 IMG_0007 IMG_0011 IMG_0005 IMG_0003 IMG_0004

4 comments on “Kathmandu: so much to see

  1. Tish
    July 17, 2015

    All those bells! Imagine the sounds. Awesome pics, and loved the hair fountain!
    Keep loving.

  2. Jem
    July 17, 2015

    Do people speak English there?

    • Robin
      July 26, 2015

      They do, Jem. Some speak it pretty well while others don’t speak well but do understand.

  3. There_Lot
    July 20, 2015

    It seems that the words “Iphone” and “dead battery” are far too often in the same sentence:-). The last 5 photos are my favourites of the day.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on July 17, 2015 by in Nepal, People, Travel and tagged , , , , , .
