Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

Kathmandu: Vintage photographs shot today

And now for something a little bit different …

Shot while I was walking around town two days ago, and perfect for this town which is saturated in history.  I love all of them for various reasons, but which is your favourite?

(Click on images for larger versions.)

9 comments on “Kathmandu: Vintage photographs shot today

  1. madasue
    July 16, 2015

    I can’t choose between no. 3 and no. 6….both so evocative..

  2. James Scott
    July 16, 2015

    Beautiful

  3. Elaine
    July 16, 2015

    I remember those fragile, precarious-looking bamboo ladders and scaffolding structures from when I was there in 1984; there must be a lot more of them around now. I am moved by how quickly the Nepalese have set about trying to restore these beautiful buildings which are such an integral part of their spiritual and cultural history.

    My favourite pics, though, are nos. 3 and 7 (she must have been in the prime of her life when I was there – a real doll-like Nepalese beauty, but there’s still a determination and indomitability about her, which I love).

    • Robin
      July 26, 2015

      Yes, absolutely. So much building and restoration going on but it will take many years, if they manage at all. Some of the older structures are just rubble.

  4. Janet
    July 16, 2015

    Tough choice. I love the filters in all of them but content-wise I think the elderly person walking in the street… more memories and stories in that mind than any one could imagine.

  5. Tish
    July 16, 2015

    I like 5 – what the men do, and 6, an industrious woman. Land of contrasts, like ours too. . . . ?

  6. Bianca
    July 16, 2015

    I especially like number five and six. I couldn’t say why though. They’re all so nice!

    • Robin
      July 26, 2015

      Thanks Bianca!

  7. There_Lot
    July 20, 2015

    This post reminds me of when you are moving and suddenly you find a shoe box full of photos…6, 5, 8, 3…and actually 2 too… spoiled vote, I think

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on July 16, 2015 by in Nepal, Real Life, Travel and tagged , , , , .
