Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

In quite a quandary about colour

Recently I spent the morning shooting at a children’s centre in Antananarivo. I will do a longer series with more details in the next few days, but was wondering if I could enlist your help in the meantime.

One of the places I was taken to shoot was a classroom in the attic: low and dark, with barely enough light to shoot handheld. I quickly switched to my 50mm f1.8 lens and cranked the ISO up to a grainy 5000. This was just one of the scenes I shot in the pokey class, at 1/320 of a second to prevent camera shake as much as possible.

Now for the question – which do you prefer? The one in colour, or the black and white?

610_3974 610_3974bw

While we are about it: I photographed these two girls in a rice paddie where they were part of a brick-making crew. Here I give you two different photos, but again, which do you prefer: the black and white one or the other?

610_3444 610_3441

9 comments on “In quite a quandary about colour

  1. madasue
    June 25, 2015

    I prefer the colour one of the classroom, but definitely the black and white of the girls…

  2. Jem
    June 25, 2015

    What is that little blue light?

  3. kvennarad
    June 25, 2015

    I have always felt that monochrome has more ‘vérité’.

  4. Bianca
    June 25, 2015

    With the first two, the one in color is better. With the second two, the one in black and white is better.

  5. Tish
    June 25, 2015

    I agree with Sue!

  6. Hayley
    June 25, 2015

    I prefer the colour in both- it seems( to me anyway) to bring the pics into context

  7. old man sam
    June 25, 2015

    I think colour for both. I like B&W for it’s ability to create mood but in the case of these two shots I’d go with colour.

  8. Geraldine
    June 26, 2015

    I agree with your last commenter, Sam.

  9. There_Lot
    June 30, 2015

    I am with Sam and Geraldine on this one. I also actually think that the black and white one of the last two is the best photo but the more real one is the colour one. My 2 sents:-)

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on June 25, 2015 by in Madagascar, Monochrome, Real Life and tagged , , , , .
