Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

At least I’ve got my health

mugWell, this stinks. I lost more than just my marbles yesterday. Someone stole my good travel mug – the one from which I used to sip my morning coffee. Oh, the bitterness of the sweet memories!

The mug was safely stowed in my backpack along with day-to-day valuables like my glasses, passport, wallet, driver’s licence, medicine, several SD cards from my camera and the precisely-engineered, sleek SD card holder: my MacBook. They took all those too.

moneyAnd at church of all places. I had stowed the bag under a table, hidden by a long tablecloth, while I went to take care of the coffee and take photos of the children in their classes. I can just imagine a little imp crouched under said table praying for his or her daily bread when, voila, the mother-lode of all daily bread, in the form of my backpack, slid miraculously into view. Or not. I would hate to try to speculate about who would choose to steal my bag. Clearly they felt they needed it more than I did. I just wish I could say I felt the same way.

I told myself that “there’s no point getting upset. It’s only stuff,” and within a few hours of the loss, I really do believe it. But I may be sad about some of the stuff, may I not? Like the irreplaceable photos and stuff I’ve worked on for the last few months.

As it turns out, the backpack’s new owner kindly left some of my medication, my passport, driver’s licence and my wallet sans cash – most of the things of true value – scattered on the ground in the church driveway. I practically did flic-flacs I was so excited to have dodged the agony of applying for new travel documents at our efficient embassy.

In next week’s Church meeting we plan to make a public announcement requesting the compassionate return of the most valuable of the items – my coffee mug and glasses. Anonymously, of course. In the offering basket, perhaps.

“At least I’ve got my health,” I thought to myself as I strolled home blindly in the dark at the end of the day.

By the way, this may be my last blog post for a while.

  • sent from Andy’s Amazon Fire.
4 comments on “At least I’ve got my health

  1. Andy
    May 4, 2015

    Your health, noteworthy only for its absence.

  2. Trinda McIntyre Lyons
    May 4, 2015

    :(((( So sorry to hear that Robin!

  3. Russell J. Fellows
    May 4, 2015

    I’m sorry to hear that. Hopefully your mug and glasses do show up again.

  4. themofman
    May 7, 2015

    I wish you well.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on May 4, 2015 by in Real Life and tagged , , .
