Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

A bumper crop of chameleons

For weeks I had been searching for chameleons to shoot (with my macro lens, silly). And for weeks I saw none – except whenever I didn’t actually have my camera with me.

Then last Saturday that all changed in one fell swoop. First, I was having breakfast with some friends when a group of children walked by with several chameleons on sticks. I took a photo of the nicest one.

colourful chameleon

Later Sue pointed out a small chameleon that the dog had been playing with. It seemed as if the poor thing had been injured quite badly, because its lower end had turned completely black, and it could only use its front legs. Still it hoisted itself to the highest branch in the guava tree, and hid between the leaves. Fortunately I couldn’t find it later so I hope it recovered and moved off. Either that or it died, fell to the ground and the dog ate it. Such is life. (I didn’t take any photos of that one – it was just too distressing.)

Later she took the toddler for a walk and called from up the hill to see the baby chameleon that had crossed the road right in front of them. It was beyond frantic, running to and fro trying to escape the giant with his macro lens. I took a few photos and then let it escape into the grass.

Baby chameleon 1 Baby chameleon 2

That evening we joined some of the neighbours for a game of cricket, where I was told about a big grey one in their yard. Of course, I took a few photos of it too before it shimmied into the hedge to safety.

Grey chameleon

Grey chameleon

The same chameleon, just a slightly different colour.

The same chameleon, just a slightly different colour.

Four in one day after seeing none for weeks. Not bad for one day, I’d say.

5 comments on “A bumper crop of chameleons

  1. Andy
    April 16, 2015

    I love the shots of the baby one.

    • Robin
      April 16, 2015

      Well thank you, Andy

  2. Lovely! I have just shared to my Facebook page – the baby one in particular is so cute. I hope we get to see chameleons when we move to SA. We once had a pet one in Nigeria!

  3. There_Lot
    April 21, 2015

    The “nicest” one is quite unique! That is definitely the chameleon that ended up on the smartie box…:-)

  4. derekmidgley
    April 26, 2015

    I really like the one just walking along the ground. So purposeful!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on April 16, 2015 by in Madagascar and tagged , , , .
