Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

A few reasons I’m not blogging much right now.

Based on a true story. Names, places and details may have been changed to make it ever-so-slightly more entertaining than it really was.

Teen 1: “Uncle Rob, why aren’t you blogging at the moment? I miss having something to read every few mornings.”

Uncle Rob: “Because I have nothing to say.”

Teen 2: “You? You’ve always got something to say, uncle Rob. Always.”

Uncle Rob: “Well, not at the moment you attitude on legs. And anyway, I’m drinking my tea.”

Toddler: “M-baaaaaab. Mmmmmup-Bup-Up!”

Teen 1: “But you’ve got cool stories. Like the time you stole a visi-vest and had to crawl away under a fence to escape a pulp mill…”

Teen 2: “A pulp mill tried to attack uncle Rob? That’s just weird.”

Teen 1: “Or the time you almost threw your scooter in a rice paddie?”

Uncle Rob: “Well, I did actually ride my old motorbike into a paddie a few years ago, and had to deal with the embarrassment of a bunch of Malagasies laughing at me. But I can’t write about things like that – I’m trying to protect my dignity.”

Teen 1: “I think it’s too late for that, Grunkle … You could blog about how your shirt matches Joelle’s pants. With a photo!”

Uncle Rob: “I didn’t bring my camera today.”

Toddler: “Baaaaaaaaab!”

Teen 2: “Why don’t you write about our youngest brother getting lice?”

Uncle Rob: “That’s not that interesting. Just terrifying. I don’t want to get lice.”

Teen 1: “I don’t think that would be a problem. There’s nowhere for them to hide on your head.”

Uncle Rob:

cantankerous 2

Teen 2: “But seriously, uncle Rob, if you had a real job, what would that be? Maybe you should blog about that. Is that why you aren’t married? Or is it because you don’t have any money? Or because you are bald?”

Toddler: “Lubidobido. Baaaaaaaab?”

Teen 1: “So when are you going to blog again, anyway? So, when are you going to blog? So, what will you blog? Uncle Rob? Uncle Rob? Ah, forget about it. Let’s play Call of Duty.”

4 comments on “A few reasons I’m not blogging much right now.

  1. Geraldine
    April 15, 2015

    Haha … very funny!

  2. rachelwhims
    April 15, 2015

    This was excruciating to read. I wish you hadn’t blogged. I’M KIDDING! I’M KIDDING! Just being a smart-ass! I get this question all the time from my girlfriends, and I wish I had a good answer to pop off to them so they’ll leave me alone. Let me know if you come up with something. 😀

  3. There_Lot
    April 21, 2015

    Nothing to say? …never

  4. derekmidgley
    April 26, 2015

    Good one, this blog post. Can almost hear them as i read!

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on April 15, 2015 by in Midgley Children, Real Life and tagged , .
