Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

Silly Sunday: the sweet-smelling lemon

I discovered something very interesting about the Lemon this week. (The Lemon is my scooter, otherwise known as Buttercup when she is serving me well.)

It turns out that she is powered by an air-cooled two-stroke 49 cc single-cylinder engine. If I lost you at “air-cooled two-stroke” all that means is that she isn’t very fast, I don’t need a licence because she isn’t very fast, and she also needs constant oil refills. Instead of lubricating like in four-stroke engines, here the oil is drawn from the reservoir and mixed in with the fuel.

It would have been cool if someone had told me she would need topping up when I bought her, or before she started sounding as if she had rocks bouncing about in her single cylinder. But no damage was done (she’s a tough old fruit) and today I ventured out to buy her some new oil. Scooter oil

“Would you like the regular oil, or the one that smells like strawberries,” the friendly woman at the sidewalk-store asked, somewhat to my amusement.

I decided to call her bluff.

“The strawberry-smelling one, please,” I smiled.

And true as my name is Bob, that’s what I got. As of today then, Buttercup is farting strawberry scent … and pedestrians city-wide will be blessed with sweeter-smelling scooter fumes as I splutter by.

Strawberry-scented oil

6 comments on “Silly Sunday: the sweet-smelling lemon

  1. Andy
    April 12, 2015

    Hahahahahaha!

  2. madasue
    April 12, 2015

    If any of your readers don’t want to believe that this could possibly be true, let me solemnly swear that after the oil was poured into your Lemon, she did indeed, “fart strawberries”!

  3. there_lot
    April 12, 2015

    Haha haha..only in Mada..maybe you should change her name to fruit cocktail? That should cover her every mood and smell?

  4. Bianca
    April 12, 2015

    No!

  5. Joanne
    April 13, 2015

    SenFeur??

    • Robin
      April 13, 2015

      It comes from China, it’s to be expected. I guess they were going for “senteur”. Ha ha ha, the things one sees in this country.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on April 12, 2015 by in Humour, Silly Sunday and tagged , , , , .
