Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

The future’s so bright I gotta wear shades

I grew up in the eighties – a most unfortunate decade musically. Or perhaps not. My sister’s husband headlined a rock band in Germany called Twelve Drummers Drumming and the Eighties saw the emergence of bands like U2, Queen, Guns N Roses and Simple Minds. There were also more one-hit wonders than one can count on both hands and feet. The music was pretty good, but the videos were completely bizarre, fuelled by some pretty funky drugs, I imagine.

One, which scarred me particularly badly, and which definitely played a role in me still being single (and in my aversion to tight jeans) must be “Tainted Love” by Soft Cell.

Then, another that springs to mind immediately is Bonnie Tyler’s “Total Eclipse of the Heart” – she with the quintessential 80’s hairdo. Even better than the original, though, is the literal version.

But my theme song, if I had one (also from the eighties, of course) would have to be “My future’s so bright”. If you know me, you’ll know why. If not, it’s because I wear my shades indoors and out. Many people call me rude. I just quote the song, or the fact that I’m trying to protect all single women in my universe. (Click the link, you won’t be sorry.)

There you go, don’t you feel so honoured to know me a bit better through my choice of music?

7 comments on “The future’s so bright I gotta wear shades

  1. solitarypaganwitch
    April 8, 2015

    The 80’s had some of the best music in history, in my opinion. I was a 90’s teen, but that’s when I started listening to 80’s tunes, as introduced to me by a crush. Thanks for the step back in time! 😀

  2. danblogs994
    April 8, 2015

    I love it, it’s just so… Just so… 80s. My personal favourite 80s video, speaking of potentially drug-fuelled music videos, is the Take on Me video. Enjoyed the post, the eighties weren’t at all bad! 🙂

  3. rachelwhims
    April 8, 2015

    I love all those songs, but the literal version of Total Eclipse is probably the greatest thing I have ever seen in my entire life.

  4. Sarah
    April 9, 2015

    Wow

  5. kvennarad
    April 9, 2015

    I prefer the Gloria Jones version of ‘Tainted Love’, I have to say. But then I’m totally into 60s music.

  6. Geraldine
    April 9, 2015

    That was my era … and of course, I love 80s music! So many memories …

  7. There_Lot
    April 21, 2015

    This post reminds me of a song named eggplant…:-)

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on April 8, 2015 by in Humour, Writing and tagged , .
