Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

My neighbours through a monochrome lens

Today I thought I’d feature some of my “neighbours” in the communities of Talatamaty and Imerinafovoany here in Madagascar’s capital, Antananarivo (or Tana for short). Most people are only too delighted to have their photos taken, and normally thank me profusely.

Of course, I am absolutely mobbed by the children who will always greet me with a friendly “bonjour vazaha” (hello foreigner) or simply “vazaha be!” (big foreigner!). More and more children are recognising me between my home and the main road, which necessitates frequent stops for proper greetings. Of course me in my cycling garb, or on my underwhelming yellow scooter is met with much laughter – especially from the teenagers. I’ll post more photos from my community next week, but for now here are just a few of my neighbours (in monochrome).

Please click on images for bigger versions.

3 comments on “My neighbours through a monochrome lens

  1. madasue
    February 27, 2015

    Of all the photos you posted of beautiful nature/scenery in Canada or France or SA…these faces are a gazillion times more breathtaking!

  2. LaBelleza
    February 27, 2015

    “Don’t you think every face tells its own story? Like a book? More like a poem. If you study it long enough, you’ll soon find its meaning.”
    ― Gail Tsukiyama, The Street of a Thousand Blossoms

    Amazing how these images come alive in black and white and a million shades of grey. Love them all.

  3. susurrus
    March 3, 2015

    You’ve a real talent for portraits. Wonderful work.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on February 27, 2015 by in Madagascar, Monochrome, Travel and tagged , , , .
