Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

Silly Sunday: Valentine’s Day according to a bunch of boys

So, I asked the Midgley boys to write me poetry in honour of Valentine’s Day.

A few years ago I blogged about a conversation around the dining room table by the same boys (just to give context). Here’s another post I wrote in 2013 too.

But back to today. On the spur of the moment, I asked all the boys to write me a poem (each) about Valentine’s Day, using the words Strawberries, Cooties and Girls. I gave them all of five or ten minutes to really get those creative juices working. The youngest was having none of it, being consumed by a crash-em-up computer game at the time.

All of them went their separate ways, and didn’t see what the others were writing. Here are their creations:

The twelve-year-old started passionately and hilariously (if a bit negatively):

Ah! The girls!
They come with their cooties!
They scare us, they terrorize!
They pinch our poor booties!

He mentioned strawberries further down but I got him to restart – I just didn’t understand why the girls would have stolen their shoes (ha ha ha). Here, his second attempt:

My gift was done
Time to run
Don’t bruise the strawberries
Don’t crumple the fairies!
(Paper cut-out ones.)

I arrive at her house:
The girl who once had cooties!
But those days are over
Now she and I are friends
(That’s why I bring her berries.)

Next, was the turn of the fifteen-year-old:

Valentine’s Day
The boys carry strawberries
forgetting the cooties,
As they gather their
courage,
Approach the girls,
for One day.

The ten-year-old relished the opportunity. His mother warned me that his might be a bit dark. I didn’t believe it for a minute.

Valentine’s Day
I hate Valentine’s Day,
Because the girls with their strawberries
Give me the cooties, yes,
They give me the cooties!

The thirteen-year-old didn’t do one either, but then I arrived home to find this sitting in my email:

Valentine’s Day
When the Cantankerous Old Mule
Wants a poem
About girls, cooties and strawberries
And gives you just five minutes
To write it
And then rushes home before you’re done;
Before you’ve begun.
Before the sun
Goes down.

They kept asking whose was the best. I definitely couldn’t make a call!

(FYI: All photos are of the boys exactly a year ago – I haven’t got around to taking new ones.)

4 comments on “Silly Sunday: Valentine’s Day according to a bunch of boys

  1. Bianca
    February 15, 2015

    Okay Uncle Rob, you wanted a poem:

    Valentine’s Day, the worst day of the year!
    It’s the day where girls pick their flower petals and giggle: “He loves me, he loves me not…”

    Valentine’s Day, the worst day of the year!
    It’s the day where boys buy strawberries and roses (always roses!) and write poems as bad as mine.

    Valentine’s Day, the worst day of the year!
    It’s the day where girls get cured from the cooties! (I wonder if the Tooth Fairy has some part in it?)

    Valentine’s Day, the worst day of the year!
    It’s the day where boys deliver their gifts and flowers, to a girl who they do not like.

    Valentine’s Day, the worst day of the year!
    It’s the day where girls send red letters shaped like hearts saying: “I love you, your secret admirer.”

    Valentine’s Day, the worst day of the year!
    It’s the day where boys ask girls out to the school dance and then step all over their toes.

    Valentine’s Day, the funniest day of the year!
    (For the ones watching, at least.)

    • Robin
      February 15, 2015

      There you go, I told you you could do it! Thanks for adding an almost-teenage girl’s perspective, Bianca!

  2. Andy
    February 15, 2015

    Hahahahahaha, rofl.

  3. There_Lot
    February 16, 2015

    Funny:-)

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on February 15, 2015 by in Silly Sunday, Writing and tagged , , .
