Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

Shooting teenagers without throwing up

I take photos, and mostly just shoot what I see. But sometimes I am commissioned to do a specific shoot, and sometimes I actually agree to do it. This holiday my teenage nephew asked me to do one of him alone (because he sees himself as a model in the making) and with his girlfriend of a year. I reluctantly agreed – on the proviso that we did no “sappy” poses. My gag reflex is set to “sensitive” when it comes to schmaltzy shoots. This was him as a baby:

Baby nephew

Baby nephew. You can see what a cutie he was back then.

Throughout the shoot the girlfriend kept asking, “Is this one ok, or are you going to throw up?” I came close on the first shot, but made it through, despite the majority of them being schmaltzy. Here we go, for those who know him and have been wondering how he turned out. And for you others who don’t know the family, I don’t want to hear about how surprised you are that I have such a good-looking nephew…

3 comments on “Shooting teenagers without throwing up

  1. Trinda McIntyre Lyons
    January 14, 2015

    Wow, such remarkable stoicism not hurling 🙂 Your nephew looks nothing like you! 😀

  2. LaBelleza
    January 14, 2015

    At least it would be easy to clean up? Love the light…

  3. Jan Motteram
    January 15, 2015

    Even though they are “tender moments,” you blessed them abundantly. Wish you would come back when Judah is that age. Or sooner.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 14, 2015 by in Family and tagged , , .
