Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug

{ More musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule }

Never lose the wonder of wandering

“How do I actually start a new blog,” I’ve been asking myself over and over since I stopped my last one in December last year.

Obviously I needed a new name first.

I could have gone with something succinct and easy to remember, but that’s just not me – I am, to put it simply, verbose. And so, here you have it finally: Living Vicariously As A Peripatetic Shutterbug {More Musings from the Cantankerous Old Mule}. How’s that for a mouthful? (Thanks to several people including Sue and my mother for the inspiration.)

Go on, I know you want to look up some of those words. Just do it – I’ll wait …

Unlike my previous blog, this one isn’t tied to a place. I’m kind of between things – back from a year and a half in the People’s Republic of Canuckistan and not sure exactly what is next. The plan is to get back to Madagascar, where I lived from 2009 – 2011, but I’m not sure when I will get there, how long I’ll be there, or where I may end up next.

I arrived back in South Africa in early December, attended a wedding, went on holiday with my family to the most beautiful spot in the Eastern Cape and now I’m surrounded by paperwork: organising visas, applying for a police clearance certificate and a new passport and trying to sign up for a basic medical aid. I’m also using the time to catch up with old friends and drink lots of cappuccinos – after all, I’m not sure how plentiful or good they are in Madagascar.

Stick around, if you dare, to enjoy the wonder of my wandering life (vicariously) with me. I’m sure to post many more pics over the next few months and years, I’ll be spouting forth much “wisdom” and hopefully we’ll have plenty of laughs together. And if you’d like to be the first to know when I post something new, please sign up alongside. Immediately!

So, how have I decided to start my new blog? With photos from my holiday. Please do click on them to see bigger versions.

One comment on “Never lose the wonder of wandering

  1. LaBelleza
    January 14, 2015

    Beautiful..especially the shots with the macro.

Comments are closed.

Information

This entry was posted on January 12, 2015 by in South Africa, Travel and tagged , .

Navigation

